< rotor >'s entrance portal with the poster set by Roman Klug (Photo: < rotor >)

 

 

 

 


>> In Suspense <<
Albeit Unintentionally
—Rather Acrobatic


Poster project
Start: May 2020

Exhibition
Opening: September 2020


 

Participating artists:
Veronika Hauer, Roman Klug, Zita Oberwalder, Keyvan Paydar,
Erwin Polanc, Christina Helena Romirer
, a.o.


Curatorial team:
Margarethe Makovec, Anton Lederer, Markus Waitschacher,
Leonhard Rabensteiner,
with the collaboration of
Birgit Kulterer (Collection of the City of Graz/Cultural Department)


* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Until autumn this year, <rotor> will be showing works by artists on both sides of the entrance portal every three weeks. At the same time, the poster series is the prelude to an exhibition in the < rotor > premises, which will be opened to the public in September. In addition to the artists mentioned above, other protagonists of the Graz and Styrian art scene will participate. Furthermore, works from the art collection of the City of Graz will be included in the exhibition.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
“To be in suspense is to hold your breath. And to look
with as much attention as possible at what is simply there,
at what offers itself to you in the presence of things.”

The French psychoanalyst and philosopher Anne Dufourmantelle (1964-2017) offers us this formulation in her 2011 book Éloge du risque (engl. In Praise of Risk, 2019). In one of the brief chapters, which is titled “In Suspense”, she advocates that the interim state itself be appreciated: “Suspension is not the arrested time that comes before something else happens; it is the event itself”.

The aforementioned book by Anne Dufourmantelle is one of the sources of inspiration for the project presented here. She refers to tight-rope walkers and trapeze artists, among others, and their ability to “attempt this miracle of suspense out on the wire”. “Taking the risk of being in suspense is rather acrobatic,” concludes Anne Dufourmantelle. And this is also an ability that is demanded of people in view of the uncertainties and unpredictability that accompany the current situation: to be—albeit unintentionally—acrobatic.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *


#3 Poster set
Roman Klug
"gefühlsecht" – an emoji diary
April 2019 : April 2020


Since March 2019, Roman Klug has been painting an “emoji” every day that reflects his current emotional state. This emotional self-assessment builds on the current, inflationary use of emojis in social media communication. The artist contrasts the use of the predefined symbols with an individual visual language that is inspired by Far Eastern calligraphy. Now it has become particularly interesting to compare the days from one of the last months with the previous year.


* * * * * * * * * * * * * *


#2 Poster set
Erwin Polanc
from the long-term project Mago Über Verritt
2020


These two posters are works by Erwin Polanc. They are part of an extensive series of photographs entitled Mago Über Verritt, on which the artist has been working since 2014. Seeing and perceiving things are the central subject of this work. Motives that are as different can then relate to one another as it is the case here.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *


#1 Poster set
Veronika Hauer
from the piece speech is to be looked at
2015/2020


The poster sets will change every three weeks, starting with a contribution by the Graz based artist Veronika Hauer. Her two images are extractions of a work titled speech is to be looked at. There, the artist shows us various drawings that can be easily assigned to a concept. In doing so, she demonstrates how cognitive processes work and how people strive to relate and pigeonhole everything around them. But here it is not the hands that one would expect in this particular setting.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

<<

Das < rotor > Eingangsportal mit dem Plakatset von Roman Klug (Foto: < rotor >)

 

 

 

 


>> In der Schwebe <<
Eine gewisse – wenn auch ungewollte
– Akrobatik


Plakatprojekt
Start: Mai 2020

Ausstellung
Eröffnung: September 2020


 

Beteiligte Künstler*innen:
Veronika Hauer, Roman Klug, Zita Oberwalder, Keyvan Paydar,
Erwin Polanc, Christina Helena Romirer
, u.v.a.


Projektteam:
Margarethe Makovec, Anton Lederer, Markus Waitschacher,
Leonhard Rabensteiner,
unter Mitwirkung von
Birgit Kulterer (Sammlung der Stadt Graz/Kulturamt)


* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Bis zum Herbst dieses Jahres präsentiert <rotor> im dreiwöchigen Wechsel Werke von Künstler*innen an beiden seiten des Eingangsportals. Dies ist zugleich der Auftakt für eine Ausstellung, die im September eröffnen wird. Daran werden neben den genannten Künstler*innen noch weitere Protagonist*innen der Grazer und steirischen Kunstszene teilnehmen. Darüber hinaus werden Arbeiten aus der Kunstsammlung der Stadt Graz in die Ausstellung einfließen.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
„In der Schwebe zu sein bedeutet, den Atem anzuhalten.
Und so aufmerksam wie möglich anzuschauen, was sich uns
in der Gegenwart der Dinge offenbart.“

Diese Formulierung bietet uns die französische Psychoanalytikerin und Philosophin Anne Dufourmantelle (1964-2017) in ihrem 2011 erschienen Buch Éloge du risque (dt. Lob des Risikos. Ein Plädoyer für das Ungewisse, 2018) an. In einem der kurzen Kapitel, übertitelt mit In der Schwebe spricht sie sich dafür aus, den Zwischenzustand selbst zu würdigen: „Die Schwebe ist kein Stillstand der Zeit vor einem Ereignis, sie ist das Ereignis selbst”.

Das erwähnte Buch von Anne Dufourmantelle ist eine der Inspirationsquellen für das hier vorgestellte Vorhaben. Sie bezieht sich in ihrem Text u.a. auf Seiltänzer und Trapezkünstler und auf deren Vermögen, den Moment „der aufs Seil gestützten Schwebe“ auszukosten. „Das Risiko der Schwebe verlangt“, so folgert Anne Dufourmantelle, „eine gewisse Akrobatik“. Und das ist auch ein Vermögen, das angesichts der Unklarheiten und Unvorhersehbarkeiten, die mit der gegenwärtigen Situation einhergehen, den Menschen abverlangt wird: Eine gewisse – wenn auch ungewollte – Akrobatik.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *


#3 Plakatset
Roman Klug
"gefühlsecht" – an emoji diary
April 2019 : April 2020


Seit März 2019 malt Roman Klug jeden Tag ein "Emoji", das seine momentane Gefühlslage widerspiegelt. Diese emotionale Selbstbefragung knüpft an den aktuellen, inflationären Gebrauch von Emojis in Social Media-Kommunikation an. Dem Gebrauch der vordefinierten Symbole setzt der Künstler eine individuelle Bildsprache entgegen, die von fernöstlicher Kalligraphie inspiriert ist. Nun ist es besonders interessant geworden, die Tage aus einem der letzten Monate mit dem Vorjahr zu vergleichen.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *


#2 Plakatset
Erwin Polanc
aus dem Langzeitprojekt Mago Über Verritt
2020


Diese beiden Plakatsujets sind Werke von Erwin Polanc. Sie sind Teil einer umfangreichen Serie von Fotografien mit dem Titel Mago Über Verritt, an welcher der Künstler seit 2014 arbeitet. Das Sehen und die Wahrnehmung der Dinge sind der zentrale Gegenstand dieser Arbeiten. Dabei können auch so unterschiedliche Motive in Beziehung treten wie das hier der Fall ist.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *


#1 Plakatset
Veronika Hauer
aus dem Werk speech is to be looked at
[Sprache ist zu betrachten], 2015/2020


Die Plakatsets wechseln im dreiwöchigen Rhythmus, den Anfang macht ein Beitrag der Grazer Künstlerin Veronika Hauer. Ihre beiden Bilder sind Auskoppelungen aus einer Arbeit, die den Titel speech is to be looked at [Sprache ist zu betrachten] trägt. Sie zeigt uns verschiedene Zeichnungen, deren Motive leicht einem Begriff zugeordnet werden können. Damit führt sie vor, wie Denkvorgänge funktionieren und wie Menschen bestrebt sind, alles um sich herum zu- und einzuordnen. Hier sind es jedoch nicht die Hände, die man an dieser Stelle erwarten würde.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

<<