Pic.: RESANITA, from the series “Barbara“, 2017.


>>    LEAVE IT IN THE GROUND

Opening of the exhibition:
on Wednesday, 25 October 2017, 6 pm
at the Ústí nad Labem House of Arts


Photos from the opening

Audioguide / Interview

Participating artists:
Marlene Hausegger, HeHe, Markus Jeschaunig, Zdena Kolečková, Folke Köbberling, Richard Loskot & Mjölk, Polonca Lovšin,
Cecylia Malik & Polish Mothers on Tree Stumps, RESANITA,
Oliver Ressler, Michaela Thelenová, Martin Zet

Introductory speech:
Margarethe Makovec & Anton Lederer,
Anna Gümplová (Limits are us)



Location: Ústí nad Labem House of Arts
Klíšská 1101/129a, Ústí nad Labem, Czech Republic

Duration: 26.10.–8.12.2017

Opening Hours: TU–SA 10am–6pm


Admission free!


“Leave fossil fuels in the ground and learn to live without them“ is a simple principle that can guide us out of the current maze where we keep making the climate crisis worse and worse.
leave-it-in-the-ground.org

In the canon of voices which critically deal with the developments in energy policy and the closely related capitalist-oriented economy the voices of numerous artists can also be heard. They deal directly or indirectly with the “management” of planet Earth, climate change and its social and political consequences. Some of these will present current works in the exhibition “Leave it in the ground”. One third of the contributions come from artists living and working in the Czech Republic, one third from Austria and one third from various European countries.

There are works dealing with the immediate surroundings, the Ústí nad Labem region, ecological issues, traffic, air pollution and the influence on flora and fauna. Some works of art open up critical perspectives on the contemporary history of the region, on the drastic political changes of the 20th century, on the accompanying economic policy decisions and their impact on the local population. Yet other contributions look ahead to the future, bring up a radically different attitude towards the environment and sustainability and push the following question to the fore: Where else will irresponsible action lead us?

Not least from the contributions that emanate from phenomena in other parts of the world, or link Ústí nad Labem to other places, it becomes clear once again that this is not a local, limitable problem area but one with a global dimension.

The artists resort to different strategies and artistic techniques in their approach to the subject area. The spectrum ranges from analytical approaches to activist practices to visionary future plans. The field of presentation techniques includes photography, video, collage, object, interactive installation and performance.


For more information about the exhibition and the side events visit: www.duul.cz/en



<<

Abb.: RESANITA, aus der Serie “Barbara“, 2017.


>>    LEAVE IT IN THE GROUND

Eröffnung der Ausstellung:
am Mittwoch, 25. Oktober 2017 um 18:00 Uhr
im Ústí nad Labem House of Arts


Fotos von der Eröffnung

Audioguide / Interview

Beteiligte KünstlerInnen:
Marlene Hausegger, HeHe, Markus Jeschaunig, Zdena Kolečková, Folke Köbberling, Richard Loskot & Mjölk, Polonca Lovšin,
Cecylia Malik & Polish Mothers on Tree Stumps, RESANITA,
Oliver Ressler, Michaela Thelenová, Martin Zet

Eröffnungsrede:
Margarethe Makovec & Anton Lederer,
Anna Gümplová (Wir sind die Grenzwerte)


Ort: Ústí nad Labem House of Arts
Klíšská 1101/129a, Ústí nad Labem,
Tschechische Republik

Ausstellungsdauer: 26.10.–8.12.2017

Öffnungszeiten: DI–SA 10:00–18:00


Freier Eintritt!


“Leave fossil fuels in the ground and learn to live without them“ is a simple principle that can guide us out of the current maze where we keep making the climate crisis worse and worse.
leave-it-in-the-ground.org

Im Kanon der Stimmen, die sich kritisch mit den Entwicklungen in der Energiepolitik und der damit aufs engste verbundenen kapitalistisch ausgerichteten Wirtschaft befassen, sind auch die Stimmen zahlreicher Künstlerinnen und Künstler zu vernehmen. Sie thematisieren direkt oder mittelbar die “Bewirtschaftung” der Erde, den Klimawandel und die sozialen und politischen Auswirkungen. Einige davon präsentieren in der Ausstellung “Leave it in the ground” aktuelle Arbeiten. Die Beiträge stammen zu je einem Drittel von KünstlerInnen, die in der Tschechischen Republik leben und arbeiten, in Österreich bzw. in verschiedenen Ländern Europas.

Es finden sich Arbeiten, die sich mit der unmittelbaren Umgebung, mit der Region Ústí nad Labem auseinandersetzen, mit ökologischen Fragen, mit Verkehr, Luftverschmutzung und den Einflüssen auf Flora und Fauna. Einige Kunstwerke eröffnen kritische Perspektiven auf die Zeitgeschichte der Region, auf die einschneidenden politischen Umbrüche im 20. Jahrhundert, auf die einhergehenden wirtschaftspolitischen Entscheidungen und Auswirkungen auf die lokale Bevölkerung. Wieder andere Beiträge richten den Blick in die Zukunft, stellen eine radikal andere Haltung in Bezug auf Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit in den Raum und drängen die Frage in den Vordergrund: Wo wird uns verantwortungsloses Handeln noch hinführen?

Nicht zuletzt aus jenen Beiträgen, die von Phänomenen an anderen Orten der Welt ausgehen, oder eine Verbindung von Ústí nad Labem zu anderen Orte herstellen wird einmal mehr deutlich, dass es sich nicht um ein lokales begrenzbares Problemfeld handelt, sondern um eine globale Dimension.

Die KünstlerInnen greifen in ihrem Umgang mit dem Themenfeld auf unterschiedliche Strategien und künstlerische Techniken zurück. Die Bandbreite reicht von analytischen Zugänge über aktivistische Praktiken bis hin zu visionären Zukunftsentwürfen. Das Feld der Darstellungstechniken umfasst Fotografie, Video, Collage, Objekt, interaktive Installation und Performance.


Für weitere Informationen zur Ausstellung und zum Rahmenprogramm: www.duul.cz/en



<<